The One World Sampler

6 Nov 2006
The Bottom Line:

Voiceprint throws in an unreleased bonus track: Amsterdam.

"Over 70 minutes of John Martyn from the One World catalogue"

Amsterdam was recorded at the Apollo Theatre, Oxford 10 October 1982 so it could have been included on Philentropy. The rest of the sampler gives a good impression of the material that has been released on Voiceprint's One World label. The release contains a full colour booklet with details about the releases concerned and sleevenotes by John Hillarby.

nr track from cat#
01 Solid Air Live at Leeds OW107CD
02 One For The Road Live in Nottingham 1976 OW124CD
03 Seven Black Roses Sweet Certain Surprise OW119CD
04 Outside In Live In Milan 1979 (Collectors Series #4) OW117CD
05 Could’ve Been Me Live At The Bottom Line 1983 (Collectors Series #3) OW116CD
06 Hung Up Philentropy BP275CD
07 Angeline Germany 1986 OW118CD
08 May You Never The Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal 1986 OW115CD
09 Dealer Live At The Town and Country Club 1986 (Collectors Series #2) OW109CD
10 Cooltide Live In Bristol 1991 OW1006CD
11 Big Muff And Live OW122CD
12 Suzanne
13 Step It Up Snooo… BP276CD
14 Amsterdam (previously unreleased) 5:37

Amsterdam is a peculiar combination of keyboards and echoplex. John's lyrics are more comprehensible than on the studio version but that's because there's less rage.

Compilation production: John Hillarby
Design and lay-out: Jon Price @ Kadu Ink
Paintings: Philomena Mills
CD: One World OW125CD