Morning Becomes Eclectic

Various artists
7 Sep 1999
The Bottom Line:

"Selected On-Air Performances from the Legendary KCRW Studios"

US radio recording of Glory Box.

First in a series of compilation albums titled Morning Becomes Eclectic by Mammoth records.
"Like its predecessor, the Rare On Air series, Morning Becomes Eclectic will feature in-studio performances culled from Nic Harcourt's morning show of the same name on the Los Angeles-based National Public Radio station KCRW/ 89.9."

Text from the cd inlay:
Morning Becomes Eclectic is the daily morning music show at 89.9fm KCRW in Santa Monica, California. The program is hosted by Nic Harcourt and produced by Ariana Morgenstern. All of the songs on this CD were recorded direct to two track Digital Audio Tape during live broadcast performances that took place on the show between March 24 1999 and April 6 1999 in KCRW's performance studio. Nothing has been re-recorded, remixed or overdubbed. A big wraparound thank you to all of the musicians who graciously allowed us to use the songs on this album."

A transcript of the interview with John features in the Interviews section (duh).

Spencer Cozens - keyboards, Arran Ahmun - drums, Jim Lampi - Chapman stick

Track Listing:

nr artist(s) title time comment
01 Angelique Kidjo Blewu 1:34 African music.
02 John Martyn Glory Box 4:59  
03 Cake Is This Love? 4:29  
04 Joe Henry Monkey 4:27  
05 Buffalo Daughter Socks, Drugs & Rock 'n Roll 3:42  
06 Beth Orton Sugar Boy 3:52  
07 Air All I Need 3:52 MTV hit.
08 Sixpence None The Richer Kiss Me 3:13 MTV hit.
09 Freestylers Dance Hall Vibes 4:35  
10 Semisonic Secret Smile 4:52 Haunting chorus.
11 Ednaswap Torn 4:02 Cover of the Natalie Imbruglia hit.
12 Lyle Lovett Bears 3:05  
13 Mercury Rev Opus 40 4:13 Lennon was here...
14 Brad Mehldau Exit Music (For a Film) 4:48 Piano instrumental, jazz approach of a classic theme.
15 P.J. Harvey Is This Desire? 3:06  
16 Morcheeba The Sea 4:39 Echoes of Neil Young...
17 Pink Martini Que Sera Sera 3:58 Surrealistic atmosphere.

Production: Nic Harcourt
CD: Mammoth records MR 0209