Island Life | Media Sampler (2)

1 Oct 1986
Island Records
The Bottom Line:

October/ November releases of Island in their 25th year.

"Promo sampler not for re-sale"

The records have white labels with black print.

This promo and the eponymous first one prelude to a big release to celebrate Island's 25th anniversary in 1987. The seven LP box Island Life (IBX 25) did not materialise until April 1988, however. John Martyn is represented on this item with three tracks: Traffic-Light Lady (side five); You Can Discover (live) on side eight - probably the Rainbow Theatre version; and Certain Surprise (side nine).

John's albums were also rereleased this year in a budget version with an Island Life logo on the cover.

Mold numbers:
MP 2 A-1U-1-1-1 and MP 2 B-1U-1-1-1.

Track Listing:

nr artist track author(s) time
01 The Wailers Concrete Jungle [Bob Marley] 4:12
02 Spencer Davis group Keep On Running [Jackie Edwards] 2:42
03 Linton Kwesi Johnson Sonny's Lettah (Anti-sus Poem) [Johnson] 4:56
04 John Martyn May You Never (J. Martyn) 3:40
05 B52's Planet Claire [Schneider/ Strickland] 4:35
06 Tom Tom club Genius Of Love [Tom Tom Club] 5:34
07 Cat Stevens Wild World [Cat Stevens] 3:18
08 Bob Marley & the Wailers Is This Love? [Bob Marley] 3:53
09 Ultravox Just For A Moment [Ultravox] 3:03
10 Traffic Empty Pages [Capaldi/ Winwood] 4:47
11 Sandy Denny Let's Jump The Broomstick [Robins] 2:40
12 Grace Jones I've Done It Again [Barry Reynolds] 3:48
Related to: 
Vinyl: Island MP2