Island Life | Media Sampler

1 Jul 1986
Island Records
The Bottom Line:

Promo to announce 25 years of Island.

"Promo sampler not for re-sale"

Virgin sold a numbered limited edition through their own channels, though.

This promo and the eponymous second one prelude to a big release to celebrate Island's 25th anniversary in 1987. The seven LP box Island Life (IBX 25) did not materialise until April 1988, however. John Martyn is represented on this item with three tracks: Traffic-Light Lady (side five); You Can Discover (live) on side eight - probably the Rainbow Theatre version; and Certain Surprise (side nine).

John's albums were also rereleased this year in a budget version with an Island Life logo on the cover.

Mold numbers:
MP 1 A-1U-1-1-1 and MP 1 B-1U-1-0-x1.

Track Listing:

nr artist track author(s)
01 Bob Marley No Woman, No Cry [V. Ford]
02 John Martyn Certain Surprise (J. Martyn)
03 Traffic The Low Spark Of High-heeled Boys (Winwood/ Capaldi)
04 Mott the Hoople Rock & Roll Queen (Ralphs)
05 Cat Stevens Moon Shadow (Cat Stevens)
06 Nick Drake Time Has Told Me (Nick Drake)
07 Grace Jones Private Life (Chr. Hynde)
08 Free All Right Now [Fraser/ Rogers]
09 Tom Waits 16 Shells From A Thirty-ought Six [T. Waits]
10 Fairport Convention Matty Groves [Trad. arr. Fairport]
11 Marianne Faithfull Broken English [B. Reynolds/ M. Faithfull/ Mavety/ York/ Stannard]
12 Jimmy Cliff The Harder They Come (Jimmy Cliff)
Related to: 
Vinyl: Island MP1