Two dates to remember..

Today the following message was posted in Chicago.

John Martyn Tribute Set for July 12; Beck, Snow Patrol Among 30 On Board

Monday, February 28, 2011 at 12:46PM

An expansive 30-song tribute album to John Martyn, the pioneering and mind-bending British folkie who passed away lin 2009, has been confirmed for a July 12 street. In the works for a few years, the project -- officially titled Johnny Boy Would Love this….a Tribute to John Martyn -- includes a number of notable participants including Beck, David Gray, Snow Patrol, Lisa Hannigan, Davandra Banhart, Robert Smith of the Cure, Phil Collins, Paolo Nutini and The Swell Season. A companion DVD including recording and interview footage is also being produced for the project. See the album's full track listing below. DC will have a full write up on the Tribute w/ music streams soon.

In other Martyn news, John's final studio album Heaven and Earth will be released May 16. The nine-track album was in the midst of being recorded at the time of death in January, 2009. Track listing below.

Fine Lines - Syd Kitchen
Back To Stay - Ultan Conlon
One World - Paolo Nutini
Fairy Tale Lullaby - Bombay Bicycle Club
Anna - Brendan Campbell
Small Hours - Robert Smith (from The Cure)
Rope Soul'd - The Blackships (Nick McCabe and Simon Jones from The Verve)
Go Down Easy - Beth Orton
Glorious Fool - Clarence Fountain and Sam Butler (Formerly Of The Blind boys Of Alabama)
Couldn't Love You More - Lisa Hannigan
Sweet Little Mystery - Devendra Banhart
Go Easy - Vetiver
Let The Good Things Come - David Gray
Lay it All Down - Donovan
May You Never - Snow Patrol
John Wayne - Oh My God
Tearing and Breaking - Phil Collins
Head & Heart - Vashti Bunyan
Solid Air - Skye Edwards (Morcheeba)
Over The Hill - Ted Barnes featuring Gavin Clark (Clayhill and Unkle)
I Don't Want to Know - The Swell Season
Dancing - Sonia Dada
Certain Surprise - Sabrina Dinan
Angeline - Nicholas Barron
You Can Discover - Cheryl Wilson
The Easy Blues - Joe Bonnamassa
Walk to the Water - John Smith
Road to Ruin - Jim Tullio
Hurt in Your Heart - Judy Tzuke
Stormbringer - Beck

(Not in final sequence)

Track listing for Heaven and Earth:

1. Heel of the Hunt
2. Stand Amazed
3. Heaven and Earth
4. Bad Company
5. Could've told you before I met you
6. Gambler
7. Can't turn back the years
8. Colour
9. Willing to work